When I am to create a new message on my iPhone, I can find many contacts that I have ever deleted the time I type into the contacts's name. Many people may ever encounter such a condition as I met, which always make us confusing. In fact, the condition is a shortcut designed by Apple Company so that you can find the phone number of people who you get in touch often. While the shortcut will make us confusing when the phone number appears become useless for us. To solve your problem, here I will show you how to delete recent contacts showing up in your text history in two methods.

Why is that contacts deleted from your iPhone still show up when sending a text?

One common issue that pops up for every iPhone user is that a name still shows up when you create a new message even though you've deleted that contact. It's no longer in your address book but every time you send a text it still comes up automatically when you go to enter a recipient. So why does this happen? How can you stop it from happening? Just how do you remove the contact permanently and completely? It's easy when you know how.

Every iPhone user knows that when you check your phone there are recent contacts in your text history. Whenever you go to write a text it pops up with the numbers and names of people you regularly contact. It's a nice little feature but it quickly becomes an annoyance if you've deleted the number or no longer need it. There's no need to worry though. We've got a guide that will show you how to get rid of the recent contacts and stop them from popping up in your text history.

Method 1: Restore your iPhone to erase recent text message contacts

Since you will lose your contacts permanently after completing the following steps. You'd better backup your important files first before the process. Since iTunes and iCloud don't allow you to backup files selectively, you can tun to the third party tool Wondershare TunesGo for help. You can click TunesGo to find more about the program.

After the backup, you need to restore your iPhone to the factory configuration. Here I will show you how to restore your iPhone as a new device. Firstly please go to Settings and then choose “General“, please choose “Reset” and then choose “Erase All Content and Settings“. Then you will see a red button “Erase iPhone“. Just click on it to continue.

Please wait for a few minutes. Later, your iPhone will be restarted and lead you to set it up or restore it from iTunes/iCloud. Please choose “Set Up” as New iPhone.

Method 2: Delete iPhone Recent Contacts in text messaging with iMyfone Umate Pro

Step 1: Download iMyfone Umate Pro on your Computer

iMyfone Umate Pro is available on both Windows and Mac and it's going to help you get rid of those pesky recent contacts properly so they no longer pop up in your text history. You'll find that it's also quick and easy to use. Download it and give it a go to see how it works. Just download the file and install the program. Connect your iPhone to your computer using a USB cable after starting the program. It detects your iPhone automatically and displays it for you in the main window.

Download iMyfone Umate Pro(Windows Version)Download iMyfone Umate Pro(Mac Version)

iMyfone Umate Pro Helps to Protect your Personal Information and Privacy
  • Permanently erase your iPhone device to keep your privacy and information protected
  • Permanently remove deleted files from your device so that they can't be recovered
  • Cleans up your junk files with a handy 1-click cleanup to boost your devices performance
  • It protects your call logs, messages, and so much more than just photos and videos

iMyfone Umate Pro - Connect iOS Devices

Step 2: Choose “Erase Private Data”

The main window has a few options to choose from. You want to select “Erase Private Data” and the program will scan for deleted contacts and also your iPhone keyboard cache to further protect your privacy.

iMyfone Umate Pro - Erase Private Data
iMyfone Umate Pro - Erase Private Data

Step 3: Erase the Deleted Contact

After the scan has completed you can click selected private files which you want to erase, After that just click “Erase Now” and watch as the program deletes everything for you.


That's everything there is to it! If you need to get rid of even more information then you have the option to “Erase Deleted Files” to permanently remove any deleted files from your iPhone. If you want to clean out everything on your iPhone then click “Erase All Data” to permanently delete everything on your iPhone so it's just how it was when you took it out of the box.

Give iMyfone Umate Pro a go for yourself today!

Download iMyfone Umate Pro(Windows Version)Download iMyfone Umate Pro(Mac Version)